chatgpt free vs gemini free: which is better after october 9, 2026?
as of october 2026, the short answer to chatgpt free vs gemini free is this: free chatgpt is now the better free tier for everyday chat. openai announced on october 7 that free users would start getting gpt-6 luna, tuned for everyday conversation and new to the free tier, from october 8.
google went the other way. its gemini apps help page says personal accounts without a google ai plan are limited to flash-lite, with the change starting to take effect on october 9.
free gemini still has real strengths, and google ai plus brings flash back for $4.99 a month. but for $0, the gap moved toward chatgpt this week.
what changed for free chatgpt on october 8?
free chatgpt is getting a new model and a new answer format. openai's october 7 post says gpt-6 with intelligent ui started rolling out to plus, pro, business and enterprise that day, and that the rollout expands to free and go tiers starting the next day.
the split matters. plus, pro, business and enterprise get gpt-6 sol, free and go get gpt-6 luna, and openai says both are tuned for everyday conversation. this only changes the chat tab. openai says the models behind work and codex are not changing in this release.
intelligent ui means answers can include charts, forms, tappable buttons and small tools built inside the reply. openai says the new model was built for more than 1.2 billion people who use chatgpt each week.
one oddity worth knowing: the chatgpt pricing page still marks "interactive tables and charts" as not included on free. we read that as a separate feature, but check your own account before relying on it.
what changed for free gemini on october 9?
free gemini is losing flash and pro. google's help page says that after the change, users without a plan get flash-lite only. flash needs ai plus or higher, and pro needs ai pro or higher. the change starts to take effect on october 9 for accounts without an ai subscription, so our reading is that not every free account will see it on day one.
| google ai plan | flash-lite | flash | pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| without a plan | yes | no | no |
| ai plus | yes | yes | no |
| ai pro | yes | yes | yes |
| ai ultra | yes | yes | yes |
ai plus subscribers will lose pro too, and google says they should get an email explaining when that applies to them. the help page does not say which flash-lite version free users get.
there is a catch in google's own pages. when we checked the google ai plans page on the morning of october 9, the free column still listed access to 3.6 flash and varying access to 3.1 pro. the help page describes availability after the change, so we trust it over the plans page.
how do the free tiers compare now?
on paper, free chatgpt gains a new gpt-6 chat model while free gemini drops to flash-lite, the only model left without a plan. here is what each vendor's own pages say about the free tier as of october 9, 2026.
| free chatgpt | free gemini | |
|---|---|---|
| main chat model | gpt-6 luna | flash-lite |
| more effort | gpt-5 thinking mini | effort setting: low, medium or high |
| text chats | unlimited, subject to abuse guardrails | compute based limits |
| context | 27k total for gpt instant | not stated on the help page |
| cloud storage | not listed | 15 gb |
| deep research | limited | listed on the plans page |
| memory | limited | not stated on the help page |
the gemini limits work differently. google moved gemini apps to compute based limits that refresh every 5 hours until you hit a weekly cap, starting may 17, 2026 for users over 18 and july 24, 2026 for users under 18. google says premium models, deep research and media generation can use your limit faster.
google's plans page still lists image generation and editing, deep research, gemini live, canvas and gems on the free tier. the help page notice does not mention removing any of those.
where does free chatgpt still fall short?
long documents are free chatgpt's weak spot, though its pricing page lists these limits for gpt instant, not luna by name. it shows an input maximum of about 12 pages of text for gpt instant on free, and many tools are capped: uploads, image creation, deep research, memory and data analysis all show as limited.
that matters if you paste contracts or long notes. the go plan lists 54k for the same model, and plus does too. a small window means the model forgets the start of a long chat sooner. we explain why in what is a context window.
memory is also thinner on free. "memory with past chats" shows as limited on the free plan. if you care where that history sits, read where your ai conversations go and our memory comparison.
is google ai plus worth $4.99 now?
for anyone who used free gemini daily, in our view ai plus is now the cheapest fix, but it is a flash plan, not a pro plan. google's help page says ai plus keeps flash-lite and flash after the change and gets 2x the free usage limits. google's us plans page adds 400 gb of storage.
if you want pro, the next step is google ai pro at $19.99 a month, which keeps all three models, gets 4x the free limits and comes with 5 tb of storage. ultra, from $99.99 a month, keeps all three as well, at 5x or 20x the pro limits depending on the subscription.
for api prices on the same model families, see ai model pricing compared. api rates do not tell you what the free app gives you, so do not mix the two.
which free ai should you use?
our verdict: default to free chatgpt for everyday questions, and pay only when a specific limit bites. pick by how you work:
- you want the best $0 chat: free chatgpt. gpt-6 luna is new to free chatgpt, and gemini without a plan is down to flash-lite.
- you live in gmail, docs and android: keep free gemini for those, and add ai plus if flash-lite feels thin.
- you paste long documents: neither free tier is a great fit. pay for one plan rather than juggling two free ones.
- you used gemini pro for free: that path is gone after the change. google ai pro is the cheapest plan that keeps it.
- you are comparing paid flagships: read our claude vs chatgpt vs gemini comparison instead.
our take: free tiers are a moving target. google has changed free gemini at least twice this year, so recheck these pages before you build a habit around either one.
keep your context when the free tier changes
free tiers get reshuffled, as this week showed. in our view the thing worth protecting is your own working context, not loyalty to one chat app.
remynd is a mac app that keeps that context. it captures the focused window, runs ocr locally with apple vision, and keeps the searchable index on your mac. you can exclude apps and sites, and history access is read only.
its agent window runs your own claude code or codex cli against that history, so switching models does not mean starting over.
download remynd for mac and keep your work history yours, whichever free tier wins next month.